Our Story


In 2005, the Agroecology Education Farm started with a vision from Drs. Michelle Schroeder-Moreno, David Orr and Mike Linker to create a space near campus for students and community to learn about sustainable agriculture. Developing this at the Lake Wheeler Field Station near the Historic Yates Mill Park was important to demonstrate sustainable agriculture near a natural area. The Historic Yates Mill Park has been an important supporter for the farm from the beginning, which was dedicated in 2006 by the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS). Since then, the Department of Crop Science, the Center for Environmental Farming Systems (CEFS) and CALS provided critical support and the farm manager hired in 2015. We partnered with Green Planet Catering 2011-2015 to further develop educational opportunities. In 2013, we began producing for NC State University Dining, one of our strong supporters helping us bring food and agroecology education in the dining halls. In 2015, they supported season extension so we can produce (and educate) even more. Our vision is far more than a “student farm”. Following our Land-grant mission, we want to provide hands-on education in sustainable agriculture and a place where students and community can learn from each other.


In 2007, the Agroecology Education Farm Advisory Committee was formed representing students and faculty from Crop Science, Soil Science, Horticulture, Entomology and the Director of the Historic Yates Mill Park. This initial group developed the mission and laid the groundwork for the sustainable agriculture components that the farm should demonstrate. The first design plan was developed by Luke McMullen, a senior Horticulture Landscape undergraduate student in 2009 and was updated by Stephen Ratasky, Michelle’s graduate student in 2012.  The design is flexible as the farm education and production needs grow and evolve.




Dr. Michelle Schroeder-Moreno, Director

This educational farm that brings together students and community has been a dream of Michelle’s for many years since she began at NC State in 2004. While you may not see her often at the farm, she is always working behind the scenes in supporting and shaping the farm. Michelle developed and directs the Agroecology Minor and Concentration programs and works to integrate various hands-on learning activities that take place on the farm in the agroecology courses.  Her kids grew up picking rocks out the fields and catching frogs in the forest on the farm.


Alison Reeves, Farm Manager

Our Farm Manager, Alison, still cannot believe that she has her dream job! She is passionate about connecting the community to the farm and to each other. She is a firm believer in the value of hard work and knowing where your food comes from. She also advocates weeding for world peace and working through any problem in life.


Jose Harvey, Communications Manager

Jose began working at the farm in the spring of 2012 as a student pursuing his graduate education. At first, he worked in the field facilitating various farm duties but he quickly carved a place for himself as the Communications Manager. He is an NC State alumnus having earned a Masters of Liberal Studies with a focus in Nonprofit Agricultural Development in 2013. He is also a Board Member for Third Millennium Alliance, a forest conservation nonprofit. He loves everything about the farm and hopes to see it flourish into its true potential.


Matt Babb, Graphic Designer

Matt joined the team in 2015 and first stepped up to design the farm website. He is an NC State Graduate student of Graphic Design and uses his experience to keep our visual identity strong. He believes in our mission and works to do what he can to ensure the farm continues to reach for the stars and grow.


Advisory Board


♦ Dr. Michelle Schroeder-Moreno, Dept. Crop & Soil Science ♦ Chris Dunham, NC State Dining
♦ Jose Harvey, Dept. Crop & Soil Science ♦ Dr. David Orr, Dept. Entomology
♦ Alison Reeves, Dept. Crop & Soil Science ♦ Keith Smith, NC State Dining
♦ Dr. Nancy Creamer, Dept. Horticulture ♦ Tracy Dixon, Office of Sustainability
♦ Dr. Chris Reberg-Horton, Dept. Crop & Soil Science ♦ Rebeccah Cope, Yates Mill Historic Park
♦ Dr. Lucy Bradley, Dept. Horticulture ♦ Dr. Bob Patterson, Dept. Crop & Soil Science
♦ Dr. Chris Gunter, Dept. Horticulture